Matt Pritchard : US10

Matt Pritchard has been kind enough to start us off with an awesome first interview. We couldn’t have asked for a more interesting read & insightful look into a slither of Matt’s thoughts to get this website up and running.

I don’t think Matt requires introductions but nonetheless let’s be a little formal : Matt is a three time PWA world champion and definitely one of the windsurfing legends! When you hear Matt talk about windsurfing you can hear the passion in the way he expresses himself about the sport and despite his busy family life he still keeps himself involved in windsurfing, recently being head judge at the AWT competitions as well as running windsurf clinics. Paul & I had the pleasure of spending time with Matt and his beautiful family last year and we feel very blessed to have had the opportunity to get to know them a little better and be able to call them friends 🙂

For more information about Matt and to keep up to date with what he & his brother, Kevin, are up to as well as some great windsurfing tips, please visit: www.pritchardwindsurfing.com

Matt Pritchard

The Basics

    Name: Matt Pritchard
    Age: 38
    Nationality: USA
    Status: Married
    Where are you currently based? Maui, Hawaii
    Sponsors: Gaastra/Tabou, Da Kine, Kaenon Polarized, Camaro, Raw Rev
    Why are you so passionate about windsurfing? It is in my blood. The one-ness with the elements is hard to match. The freedom you feel when out in a separate world is incredible.
    Most visited website?(Other than Facebook!): www.pritchardwindsurfing.com
    Three words you believe describe you: Fast, Fun, Friendly
    Three words that others might use to describe you: Pretty decent guy
    A phrase or motto you live by: risk it or sit on your biscuit

Matt Pritchard

Shallow Waters

    What was for breakfast this morning? Oh boy….. Here we go, my wife is a healthy eating fanatic- so it is usually some kind of powered up nut/fruit smoothie along with a sprouted grain bread product with some kind of nut butter on it.

    If you could have dinner with one person, dead or alive, who would it be and why? That person changes for me depending on my mood….. Sometimes it would be Jesus to get the inside scoop on life, living and everything in between! Other times it would be Julia Roberts to see who she really is like behind the movie mask!

    If you were a superhero, which power would you want to have? Indestructible so I could charge anything and not break down!

    You’re going on a windsurfing trip to a desert island, other than your windsurf gear, what 3 things do you take with you? A tent, my family and MacBook Air.

    Favorite movie? Favorite song? Plains, trains, automobiles is an all-time classic. Favorite song at the moment is “Tell a country Boy”

    What one thing can you not live without (non-windsurfing related!) Being at Home

    Favorite place to eat. Home

    When you travel what don’t you leave home without? Computer

    Who would you like to sit next to on a long haul flight? Julia Roberts!

    What poster did you have on your wall growing up? Various Motocross dudes

    Money is no object and you have one of those awesome transporter pods from Star Trek so how would you spend your fantasy 24 hours? At home

    What person would you like to swap lives with for one day? My wife- to get the inside scoop!

    What song reminds you of summertime? Long Hot Summer

    Do you play any other sports? Bikes

    What would you do if you won the lottery? Nothing different.

Matt Pritchard

Windsurfing 411

    How long have you been windsurfing? 27 years

    Where is your favourite windsurfing spot and why? Punta San Carlos- you get away from the world. You have nothing to think about except what sail and board to use. You get to relax. Read a book between sessions. Evening bike rides. Perfect waves. Side-Off wind. Camping 5 star style. Solo Sports.

    What equipment are you sailing on at this current time? Manic 5.0 is my favorite sail and 85 liter board.

    If you have a number on your sails, what is the significance of the number you selected? US 10- I like a double digit number vs a single digit…. And 10 is the first double digit.

    Who was your inspiration when you started windsurfing and why? When I first started it was my dad- he was doing it, we used to go out Tandem style and then I just figured it out from there! I was a strong 11 year old trying to pull that big one-design sail up out of the water!!!

    What’s your preference? Multi-fin or single fin? DUH, Single Fin for me! Jumping or wave-riding? Both are equal to me.

    What advice do you have for someone who’s starting out in windsurfing and would like to progress in the sport? Don’t get frustrated at first…..Have fun with it and you will be stoked for the rest of your life.

    Which move are you currently trying to master? Its all about style, no moves to master right now…..

    Windsurfing was a hugely popular sport in the 80s. Do you believe it will make a comeback and if so how can people help this along? I don’t think it will come back like it was back then because it is so weather sensitive. Now days people have better things to do than chase wind and sit around waiting for it. They want action NOW!

    If you could do it all over again is there anything you would change about your windsurfing career? I would have liked to have won a wave world title- close doesn’t cut it….. Otherwise, nope- not a thing!

    What is your most vivid or favourite memory of a personal windsurfing moment? I would say doing my first forward loop. I had wanted to do one so bad after seeing one on TV in 1988 that all I thought about for months while sitting in school was forward loops. I would visualize myself doing them over and over and over…. An Easter break down to San Carlos it all happened. I was 14. My subconscious pulled the trigger. I didn’t know what happened till I landed. It was a straight end over end 20 foot pitch straight over the front. I could’t believe it. Scared me to death. I did one more right after that and same thing…. Took me a long time to really get them dialed in after that- One bonus, my grades picked up in school because the monkey was off the back!

    Where was your scariest ride? Tell us a little about the experience. It was an Aloha Classic- my first one and it was MASSIVE. I didn’t want to go out there. But I did and I can remember to this day trying to get out in 30 foot closeouts…. I got over one, thought I made it over the next one and just as I got to the top the lip threw me back enough to go over backwards upside down over the falls and got stuffed so hard it ripped my jersey off and I drank a lot of water…. Came up to get pounded again on the next one and thought it was all over. I was a rookie! All part of the learning game.

    If you weren’t a windsurfer, what would you be doing? My childhood dream was always to be a Motocross/ Supercross racer- I grew up with Jeremy McGrath in that era, we went to school together for a couple years. When I got into windsurfing, he started racing bikes and I went the windsurfing way and he turned into the legend of Motocross. I always watched his path and career. I figured windsurfing probably saved me some pain from more injuries but when I won my first Supercross title in windsurfing, I thought it was kinda ironic…..

    Which windsurfing move do you wish you had invented? Wave 360- that is still one of the sickest moves to pull off when done correctly. Mark Angulo was and still is the man!!! Thanks Mark for that one!

    Do you have any lucky charms when you sail? Nope.

    What has been your biggest windsurfing achievement to date? 3x PWA World Champion Titles.

    What are you doing when you’re not windsurfing? Hanging with my kid, playing in the yard, working in the yard, organizing the mess….. Anything and everything.

    If you could interview another windsurfer, what one question would you like to ask them? How do you think you have made the sport of windsurfing better?

    Do you enjoy the travelling that goes hand in hand with windsurfing and what tips do you have with traveling with windsurf gear? After 18 years of non stop traveling I have to say that I was pretty over it- it was a lot of fun but after a while it turned into a grind. Nowdays with gear, it is so expensive to travel with it I recommend having a lot of friends all across the globe with lots of gear to share!!!!

    What challenges have you encountered in your windsurfing career? How did you overcome them and what lessons did you learn? I remember getting frustrated at first coming on to the contest scene. I went from winning all the small pond events in the USA to the PWA and being this touted young kid who there was a lot of talk around…. So I had a lot of eyes watching me and it took me a while to get into a groove where I was able to take down some names. The turning point for me was when my brother got out of high school and moved over to Maui with me. We worked out butts off and had a lot of fun doing it. We lived our dream and still are to this day!

Deep Waters

    Other than family, what do you cherish in your life and why is it so important to you? Being at home. I love being able to sit back relax and watch the grass grow. I cherish down time!

    What is the kindest thing someone has ever done or said to you? You have been an inspiration to me! That makes you feel good…..

    Do you believe in a higher power? Elaborate a little on your beliefs. I am a Christian and believe in God. Life is too special for all of this to have magically happened. I have a hard time thinking how people can ignore or deny this.

    Do you have a regret you wish you could amend? No

    Tell us about an event that changed your life or your character? Having a kid! Talk about a life changing experience!!! WOW- I was amazed that they let you walk out of the hospital with this thing- no license, no real training, just dropped right into the battlefield armed with a couple diapers….. Man oh man! One of the greatest experiences you could ever have! Words can’t really describe it.

    Do you have any unfulfilled ambitions? Oh yeah… I have big ambitions and they are constantly developing !

    Do you have any pet hates? I don’t have much hate in my life…. The roosters have been bumming me out lately- I’m working on that one!

    What is a typical night out? We don’t really have too many nights out on Maui- it’s all about home for us right now. If we do get out, it is a Colleens run to be back in time for sleepy time! What is a typical night in? Good food, Big Mess, long clean up!!!

    If you could be anywhere past or present, where would you like to be right now and with whom? Right here.

    What was the last book you read & what was the last movie you watched? Currently reading Steve Jobs. Last movie was lame, can’t remember the name.

    How do you want to be remembered? As a good dude, a good dad and loving husband.

    What was the saddest time of your life and / or the happiest? Happiest was getting engaged…. It was at the same time as winning my first world title.

    A piece of wisdom you’d pass onto your kids? When in doubt, gas it.

    What are your strengths? I’m consistent, motivated, inspired and love life! What are your weaknesses? I don’t like being weak…. But I am not good with conflict- I have been learning as I go but having a kid really puts you in tune to dealing with it and understanding how to move past something.

    What has been your greatest achievement outside of windsurfing? Being a dad, every day is a new achievement!!!

    What is your favourite childhood memory? Too many to list…. We had a great family and always were going on fun missions when we were young. It was motocross all our lives until we discovered windsurfing and then everything shifted into a life chasing the wind!

    If you find yourself getting burned out or are stuck in a rut, what do you do to revitalise yourself or snap out of it? For me it is taking time off and doing different stuff. I’m all about having a good balance in everything. If I sail everyday for a month, I’m ready for a rest. Sometimes it just takes a couple days, sometimes a week. I keep things fresh because when you are fresh, you are on top of your game!

    What do you see yourself doing in 10 years from now? Same thing- doing what I want to do, it may change it may not. I know that I want to be having fun and windsurfing and making a difference to my friends and family around me.

    How do you personally define success? Being happy.

    What irritates you about other people and how do you deal with it? I have zero tolerance for people that go off and out of control…. I just look at them and think WOW, is it really that bad dude? Chill it out. Life is too short to lose your cool!

    What accomplishments have given you the most satisfaction in your life? Working hard towards a goal and accomplishing it- no matter what it is. You can pretty much dial in what you want to do and when you want it bad enough, you don’t stop till you get there. I have checked off almost all the things I have ever wanted to do…. Now there are new lists and I am constantly trying to check them off!

    If you had to live your life over again what would you change about it? Nothing yet….. Yes, even my last big crash on the dirt bike! I was down for a while but am back to full power and doing everything I love- what don’t kill you makes you stronger right? I guess I am pretty strong.. Ha ha.

And Finally…

    I’m a big believer in…. God.

    Call me crazy but…. I think I am.

    My favourite place on earth is…. home

    My parents are…. The best on the planet!!!

    I could never…. Drink a gallon of milk in less than one minute.

    I’ve always wanted to…. Do my best!

    Life is nothing without…. Family.

    Today I will…. Do it.

    The internet is….awesome.

    If I had the power I would change…. How some people think-

    I am…. Ready for bed!

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Matt Pritchard : US10

  1. Nice photos. One of the top windsurfers ever!

  2. Garry Koop says:

    Matt’s been a good friend for over 15 years and I’ve never read a better interview.

  3. […] a nice interview with Matt Pritchard at their newly published blog! Tags: blog, fish bowl dairies, hawaii, interview, matt pritchard […]

Leave a Reply

