Maria Andres : ESP 2

Judging from Maria Andres’ interview replies, this girl loves to live her life to the fullest! Maria has been sailing from a very young age and like many of the other sailors we’ve already interviewed, windsurfing is a way of life for her, not just something to do to pass the time. Even after only having spent very little time with Maria at the beach, it’s easy to see what kind of person she is – outgoing, friendly & happy. She has a very positive outlook on life and is focusing herself on slalom sailing.  It’s great to see people following their dreams! For more info about Maria check out her website: www.mariandres.jimdo.com/

The Basics

Name: María Andrés

Nationality: Spain

Status: boyfriend

Where are you currently based? Tarifa

Sponsors: Gun Sails, Mystic, Bubel, Satorisan, Starboard and Ozu Tarifa

Website: www.mariandres.jimdo.com

Why are you so passionate about windsurfing? Because the of the freedom feeling… Specially when I am wave-sailing…  

Most visited website? Windguru!! 😀

Three words you believe describe you: happy, active, fighter

Three words that others might use to describe you: calm, smily, independent  

A phrase or motto you live by: don’t wait to do what you dream about, just go for it.

Shallow Waters 

What was for breakfast this morning? Nescafe and toasts with honey

If you were a superhero, which power would you want to have? space-time travel! I would surf all the best waves ever in time around the world 😀

 You’re going on a windsurfing trip to a desert island, other than your windsurf gear, what 3 things do you take with you? Guitar, painting stuff and my pc

Favorite movie? Mmm…. I enjoyed a lot the last I saw, “exit through the gift shop”

Favorite song? Depending on the moment… I have no favorite songs, but a have a lot of songs for different moments 🙂

What one thing can you not live without (non-windsurfing related!) internet!! 😀

Favorite place to eat. Pizza in my van, at the beach at sunset. The best dinner!

When you travel what don’t you leave home without? My pc! Because I cant live without internet and for working (graphic design)

Who would you like to sit next to on a long haul flight? somebody that will sleep all time and will let me sleep too! 😀

You have four dinner guests, what’s on the menu? pizza… or some Spanish “tapas”

What poster did you have on your wall growing up? windsurfing posters and some music posters too

Favorite or most used app? no mobile for app yet… but soon!

What person would you like to swap lives with for one day? Polakow sailing massive waves or Jeb Corliss who flies like superman… It has to be like you feel I can die after doing that…

Do you play any other sports? surf and mountain bike

What would you do if you won the lottery? wave ride all the good waves in the world!

If I take a look inside your refrigerator what would I find? last week…. Just some carrots! 😀 I’m not so crazy about cooking…

Windsurfing

How long have you been windsurfing? 20 years, I started young!

Where is your favourite windsurfing spot and why? Moulay in Morocco. It is windy, constant, nice and long waves, wind from the right… it couldn’t be better!

What equipment are you sailing on at this current time? right now I’m training a lot in slalom: gun sails Mega XS and Starboard Isonic

If you have a number on your sails, what is the significance of the number you selected? esp-2… I chose it because I think number 2 is complete; all or nothing, good and bad… and it looks like a duck 😛

Who was your inspiration when you started windsurfing and why? the women. The twins, nayra and silvia inspired me a lot when I begun funboard… they are stylish and powerful!

What’s your preference? Multi-fin or single fin? Jumping or wave-riding?  wavesaling, right now I ride on single, and for sure wave-riding is the best ever!

What advice do you have for someone who’s starting out in windsurfing and would like to progress in the sport? be patient and constant. Go positive and enjoy of learning. Everything will come little by little and don’t be afraid of asking good windsurfers for advises, they will help you and you will improve faster.

Which move are you currently trying to master? now that I am completely focused on slalom, I’m working on getting faster and doing better jibes.

Windsurfing was a hugely popular sport in the 80s. Do you believe it will make a comeback and if so how can people help this along? I think this sport needs to be on the tv, and the rest will come. If somebody fight to make it appear on the tv more often it would be popular againg cause the modern windsurf have a lot to show…and I am pretty sure people would be surprised about how this sport really is…. Most of the people just think is go straight planning… and it looks boring…

What is your most vivid or favourite memory of a personal windsurfing moment? When I sail with my brothers… or when a difficult to work spot is breaking and I am right there to enjoy it just with some more friends 🙂

If you weren’t a windsurfer, what would you be doing? I would be a singer! or a drummer!

Which windsurfing move do you wish you had invented? 360 on the wave… and flaka no hand is so cool!!

Do you have any lucky charms when you sail? No, I don’t.

What has been your biggest windsurfing achievement to date? the biggest achievement is keeping enjoying every session so much since my first time… and professionally… 4th at slalom ifca worlds 2011 or 2nd at raceboard worlds in 2000

What are you doing when you’re not windsurfing? working as a graphic designer, painting, guitar… or being with my friends from Tarifa (we have always things to do: biking, surfing, some beers…)

If you could interview another windsurfer, what one question would you like to ask them? the favorite secret spot 😉

Do you enjoy the travelling that goes hand in hand with windsurfing and what tips do you have with traveling with windsurf gear? I love the surf trips!!! And one good tip could be: never say it is a windsurf gear, say its surf gear!”

What challenges have you encountered in your windsurfing career? And how did you overcome them and what lessons did you learn? Injuries I have had has separated me for a while from the sport and also the NO financial support… For the injuries, I worked a lot… I a learned that you can always solve some big problems with a lot of effort and confident. But LOOK FOR A GOOD DOCTOR. And about financial support… never give up… just try and try and train!

What kind of training do you do, be it physical or mental, to keep you in shape for windsurfing? try to windsurf as much as I can but also do surf and biking. Living in Tarifa you can always do those sports 🙂

What are your favorite conditions to sail in? 3m wave, side from the right for 4,2m sail

Deep Waters

Other than family, what do you cherish in your life and why is it so important to you? Health and love… it lets you enjoy the rest 🙂

What is the kindest thing someone has ever done or said to you? my nephews surprise me with beautiful details that makes me mourn! the last time they wrote a beautiful book with sketches for me

Do you believe in a higher power? Elaborate a little on your beliefs. I don’t believe in a higher power. I do believe in balance between be nice with people and people will be nice with you, and effort/reward… I like to believe that there is kind of “universal fair balance” or something like that… but actually I know life is not always fair… but for sure, if you put your energy in something, you get reward

What is a typical night out? in a bar on in the house of somebody,some beers with friends, some tapas, some laughs and going to bed early

What is a typical night in? working on the pc or drawing or watching a movie with my boyfriend

If you could be anywhere past or present, where would you like to be right now and with whom? with my family, I live just 100 kms from them, but I miss them so much!!

What was the last book you read & what was the last movie you watched? last book”el vendedor de pasados”, last movie “exit through the gift shop”

How do you want to be remembered? As a happy and smily person J

What was the saddest time of your life and or the happiest? saddest… I lost the most special friend I have ever had… happiest… riding waves every day in maui…

A piece of wisdom you’d pass onto your kids? no kids, thanks! Nephews are enough 😛

What are your strengths? What are your weaknesses? strengths: i follow my dreams even when they look imposible, and sometimes I get to live them 🙂 weaknesses: I am too sensitive and sometimes my mood affects my hole activities…

What has been your greatest achievement outside of windsurfing? decide to stop 2 years my super traveling and surfing life and go to a super graphic design institute to get the license to do this perfect job… so now I can work at the same time I am traveling everywhere

 What is your favorite childhood memory? Jumping from tree to tree with the neighbours…

If you find yourself getting burned out or are stuck in a rut, what do you do to revitalize yourself or snap out of it? Take my van a drive, do a lot of sport and get adrenaline, then I see things clearly!

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years from now? more or less the same: graphic design and windsurfing, but probably in a different place or country that it is summer all time! 😀

What do you consider to be your worst quality? I am very impatient. Your best quality? I realize the mood of people and try to be useful  when they need it

What irritates you about other people and how do you deal with it? negative people is so bad for me… I try to run away… but if I have to deal with this I try to answer in a way they can realize that bad things are bad cause they make it bad… just finding the way this bad thing could sound funny…

If you had to live your life over again what would you change about it? I wouldn’t change so much… in general, I would do more or less the same…

Please finish all these sentences:

I’m a big believer in…fighting for your dreams

Call me crazy but… I will try it

My favorite place on earth… is haiku

My parents are… different to the rest!

I could never… forget one person

I’ve always wanted to… ride big waves

Life is… nothing without love

Today I will… go surfing with my friends!

The internet is… crazy and huge

If I had the power I would… give it to somebody else that wants to work so much changing everything! 😛

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

