Morgan Noireaux: HI101

When it’s windy at Ho’okipa you know there will be certain people you can bargain on being there if you head over to the beach: one of those is Morgan Noireaux. Having windsurfed from a very young age and although still relatively young, you can see a confidence in Morgan when he’s sailing which seems to be beyond his years. Not only a strong windsurfer but also a great surfer, he is definitely in his element when he’s out in the water. Morgan Noireaux is one of the young guns of windsurfing at this time and last year he won the Youth category on the American Windsurfing Tour. We’re sure there will be plenty more wins like this one in the future!

Morgan Noireaux

The Basics
Name: Morgan Noireaux
Age: 17
Nationality: French/American
Status: Single
Where are you currently based? Maui
Sponsors: North Sails, JP Australia, Maui Ultra Fins
Why are you so passionate about windsurfing? I like riding waves.
Most visited website? No clue, maybe youtube, or surfline?
Three words you believe describe you:…
Three words that others might use to describe you: Both of these are hard I have no idea.
A phrase or motto you live by: What the mind can conceive it can achieve.

Shallow Waters
What was for breakfast this morning? Cereal
If you could have dinner with one person, dead or alive, who would it be and why? Morgan Freeman. He seems like he would be an interesting person to have a conversation with and plus we share the same first name.
If you were a superhero, which power would you want to have? The power to teleport to wherever I want.
Favorite movie? Favorite song? I don’t have a favorite movie but the last one I really enjoyed was “Intouchable”. Favorite song maybe “Queens of the Stone Age – Go with the Flow?”
What one thing can you not live without? Food and water.
Favorite place to eat? French Bakery’s.
When you travel what don’t you leave home without? Clothes
Who would you like to sit next to on a long haul flight? No one so I could use the empty seat.
You have four dinner guests, what’s on the menu? Pasta, salad, and my moms epic cheese cake. (ed: might have to ask your mum for her recipe if it’s that epic!!)
What poster did you have on your wall growing up? The oldest one I have right now is a signed poster of Robby Naish, otherwise a bunch of windsurfing and surfing posters.
Money is no object and you have one of those awesome transporter pods from Star Trek so how would you spend your fantasy 24 hours? I guess I’d go explore the far reaches of space, maybe go look for aliens or something.
If you were invisible for a day what would you get up to? I’d go on live TV and start messing with people.
What person would you like to swap lives with for one day? John John Florence, It be cool to see how a professional surfer spends his time especially during the winter at Pipe.
Do you play any other sports? I surf a bunch and I also mountain bike.
What would you do if you won the lottery? Invest my money, and then donate some and keep the rest.

Windsurfing
How long have you been windsurfing? nine years
Where is your favorite windsurfing spot and why? Hookipa late sessions by myself. Most of the time I am one of the last five people on the water so I get sessions to myself relatively often.
What equipment are you sailing on at this current time? North Hero’s and my 77 liter custom boards.
If you have a number on your sails, what is the significance of the number you selected? My number is HI 101. It has no significance but I got it randomly which is kind of cool in it’s own right.
Who was your inspiration when you started windsurfing and why? No one. I surfed more when I started and didn’t really know anything about pro windsurfers. Now a lot of people inspire me though. Guys like Kauli, Levi, and Jason who have these crazy unique styles, and guys like Mark, Philip and Marcilio for the amazing tricks and jumps they do.
What’s your preference? Multi-fin or single fin? Jumping or wave-riding? I’ve been riding multi fins for a while and I love them. They allow you to stay in the pocket and take full advantage of the most critical parts of the wave.
Wave riding without a doubt. Every wave is a new adventure. It’s always changing and allowing you to do different things.
What advice do you have for someone who’s starting out in windsurfing and would like to progress in the sport? Don’t give up. It gets a lot better later on.
Windsurfing was a hugely popular sport in the 80s. Do you believe it will make a comeback and if so how can people help this along? I don’t think it will ever be as big as it was in the 80’s but I definitely think it will make a comeback. I just think windsurfing has a really big image problem.
If you could do it all over again is there anything you would change about your windsurfing career? I just started mine so hopefully I don’t do anything I regret later on.
What is your most vivid or favorite memory of a personal windsurfing moment? There are a few sessions Ho’okipa solo sessions that come to mind. Right now a session I had a few months ago stands out. It was about 5:30, logo high, really windy and I found myself alone. I had about an hour to myself and caught some of the best waves of my life.
Where was your scariest ride? Tell us a little about the experience. I can’t think of any waves where I have been afraid while riding it. Once I’m on the wave I’m usually not too scared, even if it’s really big. I’m usually more afraid while trying to get back out.
If you weren’t a windsurfer, what would you be doing? I’d like to think I’d be surfing, I’d need to be doing something that involves that ocean at any rate.
Which windsurfing move do you wish you had invented? Taka or the water start. I want to invent a move just so I can name it something crazy.
What are you doing when you’re not windsurfing? Either I’m at school or I’m doing some kind of sport.
Do you enjoy the travelling that goes hand in hand with windsurfing and what tips do you have with traveling with windsurf gear? Traveling is one of my favorite things to do. I love discovering new places, meeting different people and riding new waves. As for tips I don’t really have any. The only thing I could say is be really nice to the people at the front desk, while checking in board bags.
What kind of training do you do, be it physical or mental, to keep you in shape for windsurfing? I windsurf as much as possible. Otherwise I surf and try to ride my bike or run whenever I have the time. I also started to do some physical training with someone not long ago to help prevent injury and just to get me in really good shape.
What are your favorite conditions to sail in? Head to logo high waves, and side offshore winds.

Deep Waters
Other than family, what do you cherish in your life and why is it so important to you? I cherish my life in general. As far as I know we only live once so we need to take care of the body/life we have.
Do you believe in a higher power? Elaborate a little on your beliefs. No, I haven’t seen anything that points to a higher power other then people talking about it.
Do you have a regret you wish you could amend? I thankfully haven’t done anything I regret a lot yet.
What was the last book you read & what was the last movie you watched? Ender’s Game, and Iron Sky.
If you find yourself getting burned out or are stuck in a rut, what do you do to revitalize yourself or snap out of it? I go do something else, try to take my mind off of it and then come back to it later feeling ready to continue
What do you see yourself doing in 10 years from now? Still windsurfing.
How do you personally define success? Being happy with what you’ve achieved
What irritates you about other people and how do you deal with it? I don’t like people who brag a lot or people who think they know everything. A lot of the time it’s people who are nice and that I know pretty well but who have a tendency to do this so I can’t do much about it.
If you had to live your life over again what would you change about it? I haven’t lived long enough to want to change anything.

And Finally…
I’m a big believer in…. hard work
Call me crazy but….but I like spinach? (A pathetic answer but I couldn’t think of anything)
My favorite place on earth is…. Haiku
My parents are….amazing
I could never….live in a city
I’ve always wanted to…. go sky diving
Life is nothing without…. people to enjoy it with
Today I will…. do some math
The internet is….trippy
If I had the power I would change…. The World.
I am…. Happy to have done this interview, thanks!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

