Camille Juban | Guadeloupe

Camille Juban has been passionate about the ocean since a very young age, starting to surf at 5 and windsurf at the age of 7. His passion and dedication to the sport is more than evident in his extreme windsurfing style and his accomplishments with a win in 2011 at the Maui Makani Classic at Ho’okipa as well as winning the overall AWT event that year. Camille is also a Guinness world record holder for the ‘longest duration surfing a wave – windsurfing’! Despite his success as a windsurfer Camille remains grounded and humble. On shore, he comes across as quiet and unassuming but put him in the water and he transforms! His windsurfing is aggressive and powerful and the range of his windsurf moves is vast. Great to see Camille back on Maui and to be able to photograph him again! Thanks for the interview!

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg

Name: Camille Juban
Age: 23
Nationality: Born in France & moved to Guadeloupe when I was 4
Status: Single
Where are you currently based? Guadeloupe & Maui
Sponsors: Quatro, Maui Sails, MFC, Orange, Hyandai, Tainos, Longhorn
How many languages do you speak? Which ones? French, English, Spanish & Creole
Why are you so passionate about windsurfing? Because it gives me the feeling I need to get out of hectic life. It makes me feel good and relaxes me. The more I windsurf, the more I want to windsurf. It’s like a drug!
Most visited website? (Other than Facebook!) Instagram. Forecast websites
Words you believe describe you: Shy, Island style
A phrase or motto you live by: What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille002.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg


If you could have dinner with one person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?
My ex-girlfriend

If you were a superhero, which power would you want to have? Flying

You’re going on a windsurfing trip to a desert island, other than your windsurf gear, what 3 things do you take with you? Surfboard, friends, girlfriend

If I take a look inside your refrigerator what would I find? Milk & cereal, some type of pasta, cheese – I’m still French even though I’m from Guadeloupe! There will be some sauce for pasta and sometimes when I’m motivated I buy salads, tomatoes, avos! Do you cook? Yes, sometimes in the mornings when I’m tired of cereal and milk, I’ll cook eggs & bacon and avocado

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille002.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg


How long have you been windsurfing?
I started surfing at 5 and windsurfing at 7

Where is your favourite windsurfing spot and why? I’ve never been to Marshall Islands but I think it looks like a good place. So far it’s Cabo Verde and home because it’s not crowded and there are nice waves.

Who was your inspiration when you started windsurfing?
Actually Levi & Jason Polakow. When I was young I had posters in my room of Levi & Polakow and Keith Teboul. And now I’m here and part of it and I’m with Levi in some contests!

If you could do it all over again is there anything you would change about your windsurfing career? I don’t think so. Maybe more travelling. For example, I’ve never been to Indonesia. I’d like to go to the Marshall Island and Australia. I will do it but so far those are places I want to go to.

If you weren’t a windsurfer, what would you be doing?
I’d probably be working in the woods with my father. Maybe working in a commercial company. My father builds bungalows and wooden decking around swimming pools. I have already worked with him and I like it.

What has been your biggest windsurf achievement?
At Ho’okipa in 2011 because to win an event there is historic. That was my big moment. Even winning the AWT is good but it’s not the same. Ho’okipa is the one you want to win!

Which windsurfing move do you wish you had invented? 360

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille002.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg

What is a typical night out? What is a typical night in? Usually it’s quite mellow, I’ll watch a movie and go to bed early or have a barbecue with friends but when I go party it’s until the end of the night. Complete opposite!

What do you see yourself doing in 10 years from now?
Windsurfing! I hope to have more projects and my goal is to stay busy on projects around windsurfing.

What do you consider to be your worst quality? Your best quality?
Being shy isn’t good. I don’t know if it’s my worst. And my best – to be talented at windsurfing.

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille002.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg

Please finish all these sentences:

I’m a big believer in…. destiny

Call me crazy but…. I’m happy to windsurf every day

My favorite place on earth is…. with the people i love

My parents are…. special

I could never…. stop windsurfing

I’ve always wanted to… go to Marshall Islands

Life is nothing without….
love and windsurfing

Today I will…. go in the water

The internet is…. taking too much time out of our lives

If I had the power I would change….
the fact that kids spend too much useless time on the internet and computer.

I am…. happy.

 photo camille002.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg

 photo camille001.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

