Boujmaa Guilloul : Morocco

Boujmaa is well known for his infectious smile and happiness but even more so for his windsurfing skills. He is definitely not one to shy away from attempting extreme and difficult moves and this makes him one of the more interesting windsurfers to watch and photograph. Boujmaa constantly pushes the boundaries in the windsurf sport and is widely recognized as one of the more radical and innovative sailors. Here’s a little insight into Boujmaa…

 photo bouj-001.jpg

The Basics:
Name: Boujmaa Guilloul
Age: (29)
Nationality: Moroccan
Status: Not Single 🙂
Where are you currently based? Essaouira Morocco
Sponsors: Starboard, Severne, Mystic
How many languages do you speak? Which ones? 4, Arabic, French, English and some Spanish
Why are you so passionate about windsurfing? I don’t know, it is what make my life the way it is, I think I am where I am right now because of it.
Most visited website? (Other than Facebook!): Windguru, Windsurfjournal, Guilloul.com
Three words that others might use to describe you: Honest, generous, simple, friendly.
A phrase or motto you live by: I lived by this, since I heard it over 10 years ago: don’t dream your life, Live your dreams.

 photo bouj-002.jpg

 photo bouj-003.jpg

 photo bouj-004.jpg

Shallow Waters

If you could have dinner with one person, dead or alive, who would it be and why?
My Father, I never had a proper dinner with him.

If you were a superhero, which power would you want to have?
I don’t know, I believe with the power of unity everything is logically possible.

Favorite or most used app?

I use a lot of Instagram, Whatsapp and Facebook

If you were invisible for a day what would you get up to?
No idea. I have never thought about it, but probably will do something good, or for the good of humanity, I wish I had power to remember my deepest thoughts and put them alive..

If I take a look inside your refrigerator what would I find?
Cheese, Chocolate, Veggies, Fruits.

 photo bouj-005.jpg

 photo bouj-006.jpg

 photo bouj-007.jpg

Windsurfing

How long have you been windsurfing?
16years

Where is your favorite windsurfing spot and why?
Morocco, because it’s Home, beside that, Maui, Capverde and Australia, because this places has something unique than everywhere else I have been to.

Who was your inspiration when you started windsurfing and why?
When I started, I looked up to the boys at my friends at the local windsurf club, when started to see magazines and video, Goya was my hero, levi and Polakow as well 🙂

If you weren’t a windsurfer, what would you be doing?
At School I planed to become a language teacher and then I worked a bit a windsurf clubs back home and I thought I could be a windsurf teacher as well. But professional windsurfing is the best thing that could happen to me.

Which windsurfing move do you wish you had invented?
Triple loop.

What are you doing when you’re not windsurfing?

At home I will be surfing or spending time with friends talking stories and having tea in local coffee shops.

What kind of training do you do, be it physical or mental, to keep you in shape for windsurfing?
Road bicycle, body weight workouts, a bit of stretching. No mental workout.

Which spot haven’t you sailed at yet which you’d love to try?
California. Italy..

 photo bouj-008.jpg

 photo bouj-009.jpg

 photo bouj-010.jpg

Deep Waters

Other than family, what do you cherish in your life and why is it so important to you?
Religion, it is where I feel kind of safe, where my mind find balance in what kind of choices I should make when it comes to important decisions.

How do you want to be remembered?

I don’t really know, I think the way I am, might mark a good memory in people’s heads.

What has been your greatest achievement outside of windsurfing?
Built a house 🙂

How do you personally define success?
I think success can be reached once we are happy with the simplest things in life, be satisfied by the least and stay optimist no matter heavy events we go trough, “overcoming the material life”

 photo bouj-013.jpg

 photo bouj-012.jpg

Please finish all these sentences:

I’m a big believer in….Destiny

Call me crazy but…. I am not scared to die windsurfing.

My favorite place on earth is…. On a wave

My parents are…. The best 🙂

I could never…. Smoke cigarette

I’ve always wanted to…. Try a different lifestyle than a pro windsurfer

Life is nothing without…. Love

Today I will…. Live to the fullest

The internet is…. Good and bad

If I had the power I would change…. People lives if needed.

I am…. Who I am because of who we all are.

 photo bouj-015.jpg

 photo bouj-016.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment